Outstanding Young Iowan Award

Outstanding Young Iowan (OYI) Award recognizes those individuals who have demonstrated a unique impact to the community. This honor is awarded to up to three people aged 21 to 40 who are making an impact in a variety of fields, including business, political, academic achievement and humanitarian efforts. These young active citizens exemplify the spirit of the JCI Mission and provide exemplary service to their communities, serving as honorable young active citizens. This is the highest award given by JCI Iowa to a community individual, not necessarily a member of the Jaycees. 

Each year, JCI Iowa accepts nominations from our members and the community. These nominations give our communities the chance to say “thank you” for making the community a better place, to network for future collaborations, and to inspire other communities with incredible ideas. Through an intense judging process, up to three of the nominated individuals will be honored as recipients of the Outstanding Young Iowan award. Those receiving the recognition are truly accomplished in their fields and/or in giving back to their communities.  These individuals represent the best of the best and are individuals we should strive to emulate in our everyday actions. Each Honoree has shown a commitment to hope, reminding all Americans that no problem is too difficult when handled with grace, ingenuity, courage, and determination.

Outstanding Young Iowan Award Winners

  • 2017:  Amy Jones, Cally Niess, Taufeek Shah    
  • 2015: Kyle Easley
  • 2014: Tom Rauen
  • 2010: Kurt Warner, Max Cardenas, Jeff Danielson, Melissa Schoneberg
  • 2000: Denise Feltes, Kimberly Sue Olhava, Cheryl Voyna, Lisa Anderson Nady, Andy Sullivan, Vincent Howard Hassel
  • 1999: Donald W. Furman O.D., Carlos L. James, Janet L. Jensen, Jeffery J. Johnson, John B. McLaughlin
  • 1998: Lt. Judy Bradshaw, William Brand, Ron Corbett, Roger Fisher, Missy Huling, Geri Huser, Paul Pate, Pat Roth, Father John Seda, Lynn Sindelar
  • 1997: Michael Beardon, Mark Cronin, Lloyd L. Beir Jr., Ben Hildebrandt, Mark Pohaska, Maureen Taylor, Ann Wright, Marvin Ricke, Terry Rickers, Kerri Storjohann-Wilde
  • 1996: Russ A. Crawford, Kelly K. Prescottt Fischbach, Bruce McKee, James P. Sanders, P. Dawn Taylor, Dirk Van Der Linden, William Hollander, Karlos Kirby, John Maxwell
  • 1995: Jill Anderson, John Claes, William Kahler, Calli Pandit M.D., Dean Vantiger, Steven Churchill, David Coster M.D., Jim Lane Jr., Catherine Rickers, Lynn Michael Walding
  • 1994: Brian Buscher, Joe Devore, Richard Ellinghuysen, Bobby Hansen, Lindsey Larson, Tom Lehnoff, Todd Linden, Michael Mohnsen, Christopher White M.D., John Vu