JCI Iowa 2018 Board of Directors

Chris Demmer - 90th President

Chris has been a member of the Cedar Rapids Jaycees since 2014. He has previously served as Vice President (2015), President (2016), and Chairman of the Board (2017) for Cedar Rapids Jaycees. He served on the JCI Iowa Board of Directors as Black Region Director (2015), Membership Director (2016), Vice President (2017) and our 90th President for JCI Iowa in 2018. 

Chris was a recipient of the 2015 R. Bradley Trafton Award by JCI USA. The R. Bradley Trafton Award is awarded to the top 10 state officers from across the country. Chris has also received the Presidential Medallion of Honor by JCI USA for making a difference and his outstanding commitment in our organization for 2016.  He has received the Top Local Vice President (2015), Top Region Director (2015), and the Top Local Chapter President (2016) Awards from JCI Iowa.

Chris is originally from Dyersville, IA and works for Rheem Manufacturing in the Water Heater Division as a Sales Support Specialist assigned to the Menard's account based in Roswell, Georgia. Working with over 30 stores in Menards, the third largest hardware and home center in the country Chris works closely with store team members and plumbers by using hands-on retail knowledge and experience to help both the team members and plumbers feel more comfortable in selling water heaters as well as conducting training's at their monthly department meetings and corporate training's at Menards General Office.  Chris also consults with C&D Construction & Solutions based in Dyersville, IA.

Contact Information

Email: ia@jciusa.org

Phone: 319.432.4984

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JCIChrisDemmer/

Jenny Even - Vice President

Jenny has been a member of the Dubuque Jaycees since 2010. She has served as Retention Director, Activation Director, Membership Vice President, Local Chapter President, and Individual Development Vice President for her local chapter. She served as Membership Director for JCI Iowa in 2017.  

Jenny works as a Customer Facing Audit Focal at IBM in Dubuque. She likes to spend her free time with her family, crafting, and traveling.   

VP Area of Emphasis: Internal Programing

Contact Information

Chapter Assignments: Cedar Rapids, Cedar Valley, Clinton, Quad Cities,  Dubuque (cross assigned)

Email: VPJenny@iowajaycees.org

Phone: 319.573.1918

MaeLee Rahm - Vice President

MaeLee has been a member of JCI Des Moines since 2014. She has served the Des Moines Jaycees as 2015 Vice President of Community Impact, 2016 President, and  2017 Chairwoman of the Board along with serving JCI Iowa as the 2017 State Treasurer.


MaeLee works at Baker Electric in their Accounting Department as a Billing Specialist. She loves to cook and explore new restaurants in the Des Moines area. When she's not eating you can find her hanging out with family and friends, crafting, or attending concerts. 

VP Area of Emphasis: Membership

Contact Information

Chapter Assignments: Ames, Nevada, Primghar, Spencer, Des Moines (cross assigned)

Email: VPMaelee@iowajaycees.org 

Phone: 641.751.5025

Jordan Shanks - Vice President

Jordan has been a member of the Cedar Valley Jaycees since 2015 and served as 2017 President and 2016 Director of Membership. He will continue to serve the chapter as the Chairman of the Board in 2018.   

Jordan is an IT consultant at ACES in Cedar Falls, IA. He is also a trustee of the Waverly Library and the Bremer County Library Association. In his free time, he enjoys spending time watching the Indiana Pacers and hanging out with friends and family.  

VP Area of Emphasis: External Programming 

Contact Information

Chapter Assignments: Clear Lake, Dubuque, Greater Greene, Mason City, Waverly, Cedar Valley (cross assigned)

Email: VPJordan@iowajaycees.org 

Phone: 319.830.3620

Breanna Wetzler - Vice President

Breanna has been a member of the Ames Jaycees since 2011. She has chaired key projects such as the Holiday Food Baskets, served as Management Vice President and was Local Chapter President in 2014.  She served as Communications Director (2015), and Secretary (2016 & 2017) for JCI Iowa.

VP Area of Emphasis: Marketing & Communications

Contact Information

Chapter Assignments: Clive, Des Moines, Johnson County, Schaller, Ames (cross assigned)

Email: VPBreanna@iowajaycees.org 

Phone:  507.841.1964

April Schoonover - Treasurer

April has been a member of the Cedar Rapids Jaycees Chapter since 2016. She has previously served as Media & Communications Director (2016), Casinos Director (2016), Chairperson for Run, Punt Pass (2016), Uptown Friday Nights Director (2017) and was the JCI Iowa Black Region Director (2017). She was also Top New Member for the Cedar Rapids Chapter & one of the Top New Members for the State of Iowa in 2016. 

April has worked in the Accounting field for the last 8 years. In her free time, she likes to volunteer, spend time with family and friends, play golf and cheer on her sister in law’s softball club teams with Iowa Elite Force.   

Contact Information

Email:  treasurer@iowajaycees.org 

Phone: 319.560.2582

Amy Arthurs - Secretary

Amy has been a member of the Cedar Rapids Jaycees since 2014 and also serves as Presidential Assistant to the State President.

Amy works as a Technical Recruiter at Donatech Corporation and enjoys playing volleyball and kayaking in her free time.

Contact Information

Agnes Kress - Chairwoman of the Board

Agnes has been a member of the Cedar Valley Jaycees since 2008 and has served in several leadership roles throughout her JCI career. She was the first president of the re-branded Cedar Valley Jaycees in 2013. That year she led her local chapter to placing 5th in the parade of chapters for JCI USA also being named an Outstanding Local Chapter. She joined JCI Iowa in 2015 as Secretary and served as Vice President in 2016 and President in 2017.    

Agnes was named Outstanding Young Iowan in 2012 by JCI Iowa, received a Presidential Medallion of Honor by JCI USA in 2014 and was  inducted  into the JCI Iowa Senate in 2016. Outside JCI, you can always find Agnes volunteering throughout her hometown of Waterloo as she has a passion and desire to always make a positive impact in her community anyway she can. In 2018, Agnes looks forward to continuing her travels across the state to interact with other JCI Iowa members to increase their local impact, knowledge of resources available to them and explore new opportunities.   

Contact Information

Email:  cob@iowajaycees.org 

Phone:  319.239.5794 

Program Directors

Cristy Steffen - Marketing & Communications Director

Cristy has been a member of the Cedar Valley Jaycees since 2016  and was Vice President of Marketing in 2017 for Cedar Valley Jaycees

Parker Thirnbeck - State Membership Director

Parker joined the Mason City Jaycees in December of 2013.  Since then he has served as Mason City Jaycees President, Red Region Director, State Vice President, and now serves as Membership Director for JCI Iowa.

Laura Gansemer - Internal Communications Director

Laura joined the Cedar Rapids Jaycees in February of 2017 . Laura is responsible for any of JCI Iowa internal publications that would be sent to our members.

Angie Miller - Internal & External Programs Director

Angie has been a member since 2008 and has been part of the Hampton, Ames and Nevada chapters.

Dr. Ryan Anderson - Sponsorships & Fundraising Director

Dr. Anderson has been a member of JCI Des Moines since 2009 and has served as past chapter President and past Vice President of JCI Iowa.

Nicole Schroeder - Public Relations and Social Communications Director

Nicole has been a member of the Cedar Rapids Jaycees since 2015 and has served as Local Secretary for 2016 & 2017.